News Archive


Free Entry To Boost Visitor Numbers

The Shire of Leonora has endorsed a recommendation by the Gwalia Leonora Reference Group to make entry to the Gwalia museum precinct free from 1 July 2015.

The aim is to encourage more visitors to Gwalia and the museum, and deliver an all-inclusive holistic approach to better understand the early goldmining history and social life of Gwalia. The entire Gwalia is a museum, not only the buildings on top of the hill.


The visitor's experience starts on entering Gwalia ghost town, located approximately 2km south of Leonora. Driving past the abandoned miners’ cottages, there are opportunities to stop and explore how past residents lived, whether it was a miner, his wife and children or the single men staying at Mrs Patroni’s guest home. VM & VB Mazza’s was a one-stop shop where anything from bread to a refrigerator could be purchased.

Continue the journey up the hill to view the buildings associated with the old Sons of Gwalia mine operations, including the timber headframe constructed in 1898 and the former miner manager’s house now functioning as Hoover House Bed & Breakfast.

Gwalia demonstrates the relationship between the miners’ settlement, the mine buildings (mine office and Assay) and mine manager's house on the hill once associated with the Sons of Gwalia Mine between 1898 and 1963. Objects are on display throughout Gwalia and photographs in the old Mine Office building illustrate the history of gold mining and social aspects of Gwalia and  Leonora.

We hope that you will visit Gwalia soon.

 

« Return to news page